Tags

, , , , ,

It is British Egg Week from 1st – 7th October, and as one of my favourite things in the world ever, I thought I would celebrate all week long with a number of little recipes.

I love eggs not only because they’re cheap, but they’re incredibly good for you and they’re versatile; they can be both the centrepiece of a dish or hideaway in the background. You can eat them for breakfast, lunch or dinner, as a savoury snack or as a dessert. Or you can even get and insight into your personality type. I really can’t sing enough praise for the humble egg.

So, here’s my challenge – seven days, a fifteen pack of eggs and enough recipes to keep all you lot inspired. Tune in as I post a recipe a day encompassing all the meal basics ­– breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, supper and dessert, it’s all covered by Credit Munched this week.

I’m kicking it off today with breakfast. Kind of makes sense does it not?!

Croque Madame Muffins

I spent one Saturday morning in front of the TV a little worse for wear after a night at a pub and saw this recipe for the first time – Rachel Khoo’s Croque Madame Muffins. It was everything I needed right there and then; runny egg, creamy béchamel, gooey cheese, toasted bread and salty bacon. God, I’m making myself drool even now. And the money shot where Rachel cuts into the muffins and the yolk seeps out? I went straight out and bought the ingredients to make it myself.

Now, obviously, this recipe is made to look a whole lot easier on the TV. There are a few fiddly components and putting it together was a little more taxing than anticipated. But when you bite into this unusual breakfast treat, you realise it is well worth the effort.

So I present to you Croque Madame Muffins, courtesy of Rachel Khoo.

Tomorrow? A healthy tofu meal for lunch inspired by Gok Wan (I bought his recipe book a few weeks ago and was surprisingly impressed). So see you then!

