Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Only one full week of work until we feel the benefits of an extra day of holiday. I know there’s a huge buzz surrounding street parties, so I thought I would jump on board and share a few ideas of my own.

This is a bit like one of those flashback episodes of Friends. Think of it as a round up of some of my favourite sandwich and picnic ideas I’ve posted so far, perfect for making in advance for large groups of people.

Coronation chicken baguette

Invented for the Queen’s coronation 60 years ago, this is the perfect sandwich filling for any Jubilee party. This recipe uses M&S Terribly Clever coronation chicken paste, but if you’re unable to find any, you can always use some korma curry paste,  tomato puree, chutney and raisins as a base to the creme fraiche and mayonnaise. However, I think M&S really nailed it on the head with their version, so it might be worth scouting some out.

Mackerel pate

I recently saw Felicity Cloake had done a piece on the perfect mackerel pate. While I can make no such claims of perfection, this is one of my staple recipes I use time and time again. Really easy to make up and using some similar ingredients to the coronation chicken, it’s lovely to spread on toast or crispbreads. Plus, it’s a real summer dish.

Scotch eggs

Really, seriously – don’t buy them. I couldn’t believe the difference between shop bought ones and these homemade giant scotch eggs. They may take a little more effort, but they actually come out at a similar price as the ones from Tesco. So if you’ve got 45 minutes to spare, go for it. Plus, they’re pretty hassle free, which means you can get on with other things at the same time.

Chorizo salad

Equally delicious hot or cold, this is a nice little salad that takes no time at all. The addition of the beetroot and chorizo make it a punchy little number. Add in some sundried tomatoes as well if you’re looking for something high in taste but not as kind on the waistline. It is a bank holiday celebration after all!

Bacon jam

Weird sounding but utterly mouthwatering. You can make a huge batch of this over the course of an hour or two. All you then need is some bread, or maybe a couple of those scotch eggs, and you’ve got a perfect topping for burgers or a condiment that everyone will love. Just make sure you make enough because it’s incredibly moreish.

I will be back on Thursday with a fun sweet option to try out, or gain some inspiration from.

Enjoy!

