Tags

, , , , , ,

I wanted to make scones and jam today and this month Botanical Baker is hosting Simple and In Season so I can enter using strawberries. Perfect. Or so I thought.

Since it’s been quite a while since I made scones (I believe last time I was probably advised by a Blue Peter presenter to get an adult to help me with anything hot), I decided to follow a recipe strictly, which is quite frankly a first for me. Even with baking, I take much of a ‘little bit of this, little bit of that’ approach. BBC Food, as reliable as ever, threw up this recipe. Here’s the picture from the site. Look at them. They look glorious. Towering high oozing jam and cream.

Here’s what mine looked like. Please note, I have not photoshopped the picture to make them look more pathetic.

Do you see the difference?

I seem to have invented pancake scones. They’re too thin to even cut in half and sandwich around jam and cream. Absolute rubbish.

I wouldn’t mind so much, but I did actually follow the recipe to the very letter. Yet they look nothing like the imagine of afternoon tea I had floating around my head when I started the project. As the minutes ticked down on my oven timer, I became increasingly worried that the explosion of scone wasn’t ever going to happen. And it didn’t. I couldn’t even be bothered to waste my effort whipping some cream for them. Heart breaking.

But nevermind! You win some, you lose some. Although they may be piddly flat excuses for a scone, they still taste good with jam and (non whipped) cream. Oops!

