Tags

,

Earlier in the year, Morrisons introduced its new branding for its value range. Tesco quickly following suit not long ago by dropping its blue and white striped packaging, changing the name to ‘Everyday Value’ and improving the content of its products. The apple sauce, for instance, contains 33% more apples; the fish fingers now contain 100% fillets of fish and the cheddar comes in a resealable bag. Fancy. In fact, I noticed that Tesco seems to have gone mad for redesign in general when I was wandering through the yoghurt aisle at my local store the other week. My latest obsession – granola – had me on the search for a complementary dairy product, and I had my sights firmly set on some Greek yoghurt.

Now I am a complete sucker for yoghurts. I get through an incredible amount and my mum insists I’ve had one a day since I was able to eat solids, which has certainly been the case for as long as I can remember! So when I saw this snazzy packaging promising honey Greek-style yoghurt and an introductory offer price, it went straight in my basket, no questions asked. And oh my, when I sprinkled over my granola, it was a match made in heaven.

By the next day the 450g pot was completely licked clean and I wondered why on earth I hadn’t picked up several tubs. When I returned to Tesco I realised that in the previous day’s excitement, I’d failed to notice a rebrand across a large section of its yoghurts range. Twinkling at me from every corner were these amazing looking products. So purely for the purposes of this blog, I decided it would be prudent to sample a few more and post my verdict.

Honey Greek yoghurt – obviously, I think this is probably the greatest thing I’ve ever eaten. However, I am naturally disposed towards honey Greek yoghurt. Is it better than the other brands out there? Probably not. But it certainly pipped the brands on the price front, even at its full £1.50 price tag.

Mango and passion fruit Greek yoghurt – it is beautifully thick and creamy as a Greek yoghurt should be, but it isn’t as good with granola as the honey one. The flavour is quite nice, although it mainly tastes of mango. Not sure about the fruit chunks though as it sort of ruins the texture. Overall, quite nice, but it doesn’t set my tastebuds alight.

Low fat mini pots – With 140 calories per pot and 2g of fat, to me, that doesn’t signify a particularly healthy product as indicated by the low fat name. Shape comes in at 75 calories per pot with less than 0.1g of fat and Muller lights at 93 calories and 0.2g of fat. Even the Smoothies yoghurts below come in at 100 calories and 1g of fat! But the flavours are good – the lemon is very zingy, the strawberry pieces are tasty, and you can’t really go wrong with peach. I wasn’t feeling overly adventurous and left the hazelnut and coconut for another time. At 40p a pot, I don’t think they’re massively worth it. Unless Tesco starts phasing out these tasty treats (that’s right, 115 calories and 2g of fat) at £1.12 for a six pack, then I can’t see me changing my shopping habits.

Smoothies yoghurts – two flavours in one pot? Yes please! Mango and passionfruit was essentially the same as the Greek yogurt, except without the extreme creaminess, so a little forgettable. I’m not a banana fan, so the strawberry and banana combo weren’t for me. And peach and pineapple – sure they’re the best of the pack, but they’re not good enough for me to want to spend £2 overall. A good idea, but the flavours don’t quite pull it off.

Still to try

Custard layered yoghurt – sounds ridiculously nice, but not really a yoghurt! Plus, they’re not going to go with my granola, which is now my sole purpose in life.

Fruities yoghurt – can’t imagine they’re going to be a huge taste sensational. I won’t be rushing out.

Conclusion?

They’re all quite nice flavours, but nothing outstanding. The packaging is awesome, and does stand out on the shelves, but I can’t help but feel that’s where the extra pennies come from. Other than the honey Greek yoghurt, I will probably be sticking to my usual purchases. Unless there’s an offer on of course!

