Finally! I once again have access to the internet with my laptop. No more relying on my phone and all the apps. Here’s a much overdue post.

Last year for Easter I got all creative. Buying a few eggs from the supermarket is just so boring and when they’re not on offer, they’re ridiculously expensive for what they are. Just ask Gobble Monkey. So I decided to make some Easter baskets. But not just any Easter baskets – they were in fact super awesome Easter baskets.

I think I’m going to be saying Easter a lot in this post.

Anyway, to whet your appetite, here is a picture of them first of all. They’re a chocolate lover’s dream, with fudge pieces thrown in there for good measure as well.

So obviously, with such an outstanding track record, I envisaged bigger and better things for this year. And being a bit of a Rice Krispie enthusiast, when I found this piece of inspiration, I couldn’t resist. After all, is there anything better than a chocolately snack with added riboflavin?

First of all came the Krispy Chicks. Using a leftover egg box and some grease proof paper, I loaded each segment with the mixture and formed them into half hearted attempts at egg shapes (note to self, buy proper small sized moulds next year). Leaving to set, I then stuck on different coloured smarties eyes with melted chocolate and added some marzipan beaks. Et voila! Pretty cute really.

Next, some Easter nests with smarties eggs and marzipan chicks. I used a chopstick to give the chicks some features with chocolate.

Finally the Easter Panda! I am not even going to attempt to explain the in joke behind this creation, but needless to say the recipient will probably be equally as perplexed as anyone reading this post. Using a large egg mould (£2.50 from Sainsbury’s. Good work there), I mixed up batches of white and milk chocolate Krispies and fashioned them into a pattern that looked vaguely like panda fur. While they were in the fridge setting, I created the paws by melting chocolate into large button shapes. Next came the filler in order for the two halves of the egg to stick together, followed by the ears. And then after another quick stint in the fridge I added features to the face and some Smarties eyes.

But because Easter isn’t until Sunday, I cannot reveal the end product in fear of spoiling the surprise completely. So tune in again to see the final product in all its glory. Heck, whatever anybody thinks, I’m just impressed it survived the journey from London to the north.

Happy Easter!!

